Super Bowl Fare: Mile High Middle Eastern Salad

Who says you can’t get your game on and have a delicious–and healthy–spread at your favorite bowl game?  You can!  Lots of dips, spreads, chili.  This salad can be deconstructed or piled high and noshed on in one fell swoop. I had to fly over this to get a good picture of the whole salad.  Here’s what you’re aiming for.

Let’s take it step by step. The tabbouleh and hummus recipes are at the end.  Enjoy!

Start with a layer of chopped spinach–all the components need to be in bite-sized pieces

You may be far more talented than I, but I couldn’t figure out to spread hummus on a bunch of spinach, so I put it on parchment paper first.  This is my classic hummus.

The hummus came off pretty easily.  The following layer is composed of carrots and jicama cut into small matchsticks.

Time for delicious tabbouleh.  I mounded this in the middle and pressed it outward with my spoon.

More spinach and more hummus–this time, I put the hummus spread in the freezer for about five minutes.  Wow.  That worked even better.  This is fava bean hummus.

What else can I pile on here?  Hmmm, maybe more tabbouleh, carrots, jicama and then a bunch of chopped tomatoes and olives?  I transported this to a screening and it kept together just fine.  I would give more margins to the platter, though…. voila!  It’s a dip, it’s a salad.  It’s a delicious addition to your Super Bowl Spread.

Tabbouleh*
Okay, I’ve been making tabbouleh for years and, if I do say so myself, this is a great version.  I didn’t have parsley when I made this, so it’s not in this batch.

1 ½ cups raw bulgur
1 cup boiling water
Juice of 1 lemon
1/3 cup vinegar
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 tsp dry mustard
1 tsp ground cumin
¼ cup olive oil
Freshly ground pepper and salt, to taste
1/2 cup chopped parsley
1 bunch green onions, diced (both white and green)
1 container grape tomatoes or two medium tomatoes, chopped
1 cucumber, seeded and diced

Put bulgur in a bowl and pour boiling water over it.
Whisk lemon juice, vinegar, garlic, mustard,and cumin in a liquid measuring cup. Whisk in olive oil.
Pour over bulgur and let sit for 45 minutes or so at room temperature until all the liquid is absorbed.
In the meantime, chop vegetables and parsley and put on top of the bulgur.
Add the drained and rinsed chickpeas.
When bulgur is tender, toss the salad.

*for this salad, I omitted most of the veggies because they are in different layers, and kept it simple with bulgur wheat, garbanzo beans and dressing.

Sue’s Classic Hummus
What is it about hummus? It’s great as a sandwich spread, in wraps, mixed with warm rice. Just make some! I’m not super fond of tahini, so I substitute cashew butter in my basic hummus recipe.

3 garlic cloves
3 T lemon juice
1 T cashew butter
1 15 oz. can garbanzo beans
2 T olive oil mixed with 1 T bean liquid
(you could do just 1T oil or all bean liquid)
½ tsp salt

Put garlic in food processor and process until minced fine, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.
Put in the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. Taste and correct for lemon and salt. Add a little more bean liquid if you like your hummus more creamy.

Fava Bean Hummus
Fava beans have their own special flavor and I love making hummus with them, too. It’s a little sharper taste. I will add a couple tablespoons of chopped parsley to my next batch.

3 cloves garlic
1 15 oz can fava beans, drained and rinsed (reserve ¼ bean liquid)
1/3 cup garbanzo beans
3 T lemon juice
1 T vegenaise
2 T olive oil or use 2T as above
½ tsp. salt

Put garlic in food processor and process until minced fine, scraping down the sides of the bowl as necessary.
Put in the rest of the ingredients and process until smooth. Taste and correct for lemon and salt. Add a little more bean liquid if you like your hummus more creamy.

Leave a Reply

