Be a Vegan Foodie With Us!

I was so inspired by the idea of making vegan Boursin cheese that I stopped cleaning my kitchen and got out my food processor.  I was cleaning so David Vessey could demonstrate how to make vegan gnochhi (that will come a little later).  But I was watching everydaydish.tv which is great fun and I saw a video of one of my favorite cookbook authors, Bryanna Clark Grogan, making this luscious appetizer. The recipe is in Bryanna’s latest book, World Vegan Feast, which has been on my wish list and is now in my library.  Bryanna is incredibly talented, an excellent teacher and very kind.  Please read her blog and support her by buying her books.

Now, before I go any farther, I must give credit where it is due and thank Shane Van Oosterhout for taking the photographs at night.  I can only photograph food during the day, but Shane is something of a pro.  He’s a fantastic cook, a gifted artist and a brilliant blogger.  Find him at The Passionate Gardener.  He brought basil-infused olive oil that he was growing in his basement–in Michigan–in the winter!  I wanted to drink it out of the carafe, but I held back.  Here’s Shane before people started throwing their dishes at him.

Back to my Boursin. I tried doing the whole herb log thing myself with limited success, but our guests were all in agreement with Bryanna.  It tastes like the real deal: smooth, creamy and decadent. I wouldn’t call it health food, but it’s a heckuva lot better for you than real Boursin, a combo of cream cheese and butter!  I modified Bryanna’s recipe by adding 2 more tablespoons of lemon juice, two tablespoons less of vegan margarine and probably a 1/4 teaspoon more of salt.  Next time, I’ll cut out another tablespoon of margarine and keep going until I can tell the difference. You are going to love! having this in your repertoire.  I made a stacked sandwich with it the next day…yum.  And next up is cucumber sandwiches.

One thought on “Be a Vegan Foodie With Us!

  1. Pingback: Heirloom Veggie Appetizer–the answer to FMO | stirthepotgr

Leave a Reply

