Supper Club Love

In the continuing quest for self-knowledge, I have discovered another mystery about my psyche. You will recall when I did my juice fast that I realized I love food more than beer. Well now I know I love people more than food. It’s an important revelation. Kind of a relief, actually. People. Food. Beer. That seems…normal. Excellent. So, we had our September supper club minus all the teachers and grad students who have classes on Wednesday nights fall semester. We missed all of you! Shane Van Oosterhout, who’s in the M.F.A. program at Western, sent a surfeit of heirloom tomatoes to cover his absence.

It didn’t work, of course, but it did result in these two dishes… Tempeh, lettuce and heirloom tomato salad and

Indian tomato chutney

Thank you, Shane!

I decided, instead of focusing on people’s dishes, that I would photograph people with their dish. As you will see from the resulting photographs, I prefer people to food. The bright sunlight at times completely obliterated the food and I didn’t even notice. For example, I was thinking about how beautiful Michele’s hair looked in the sunlight, and…

I pretty much erased her cauliflower patties–they were so good that Molly Corriveau offered to arm wrestle me for the leftovers at the end of the night. We ended up splitting them like the civilized women we are. Next, I blotted out Griff and Kendra’s black bean and sweet potato burritos… c’mon, these are two fantastic women. Who cares? Though I have to admit, the burritos were excellent.

But enough about my photography skills. I did manage to take a few pics of people and their dishes. Here’s Trish with her spring rolls.

Kathy Harwood and her roasted vegetable and black bean enchiladas

For some reason, this supper club could be nicknamed ‘Desserts Gone Wild.’ Cindy Krieg arrived with her no-bake oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

Beth Leeson provided vegan baklava

Cindy Johnson graced us with Pumpkin Hemp Bites

I supplied carrot pumpkin cake with cream ‘cheese’ frosting

And Morgan came with her amazing banana bread and homemade vegan nutella… Vegan Brits go wild!

As we were called in to eat, I noticed something really striking. Do you see it, too?

Yes! A really cool skirt on K.C. Andrews. As it turns out, K.C. not only makes an amazing vegan pumpkin ale bread, she sews these skirts from men’s shirts. You can purchase them at Clothing Matters–and maybe even chat with K.C. while you’re there…

So, um, back to the food. Here was the buffet

And the amazing desserts

And then my camera battery died. Sigh. Imagine a good time being had by all.

Leave a Reply

