Farmer’s Market Bounty

farmer's market 002

If you ever wondered what $53 dollars could buy for you at the Fulton Street Farmer’s Market, here you go! I am terrible at remembering how much of something I got so you’ll just have to eyeball it, but I can certainly list it. The only thing I bought that wasn’t homegrown was some Gilroy, California shallots. Other than that, it is Pure Michigan. From Blandford–always my first stop–I got an enormous head of broccoli, some cauliflower, a celery leaf heavy bunch o’ celery, two bundles of Tuscan kale and some flat-leaf parsley. After that, it was a blur that included red-skinned potatoes, 3 pints of hot peppers (a mix of habanero and cherry bomb) for Roger, two beautiful heirloom tomatoes, tons of peppers to freeze (green, pimento and poblano, tons of apples to perfect my apple pie pizza–Honey Crisp, Zestar and Fuji–and Michigan pears.  This will easily feed the two of us for a week.  Love, love, love my home state!

Leave a Reply

